Foundation Grants Close to $7.3M in 2021 - Richland County Foundation

Foundation Grants Close to $7.3M in 2021

By Maura Teynor

May 19, 2022

During the Richland County Foundation annual meeting recently held President Brady Groves reported the Foundation granted $7,299,660 in 2021. 

Donors continued to be very generous and gifts for the year totaled $4,546,760.

Foundation donors were most passionate about supporting children/family/youth with grants totaling $1,572,301. Other sectors receiving grants were arts and culture $1,669,474, community $1,465,296, education 1,198,049, human services $659,951, environment 391,035, economic development $158,390, health services $83,097, and churches $102,067. To review the 2021 annual report, go to 

Guest speaker Mansfield Police Chief Keith Porch spoke about the recently installed MILO de-escalation unit. The City of Mansfield received a grant to help fund the simulator which will provide officers opportunities to practice de-escalation techniques with real-time feedback. The MPD also will utilize the equipment for community outreach.

Guest speaker Area Agency on Aging District 5 Vice President of Outreach and Development Nicole Williams spoke about a senior housing complex that is under construction. Grants were awarded for the Ritter’s Run project on Ohio Street in Mansfield, a ranch-style apartment complex designed to serve low-income adults ages 55 and older. The handicap-accessible development will include support services, affordable rent, utilities, appliances, and off-street parking. 

During the business portion of the meeting Aaron Williams, Pastor of Maddox Memorial Church of God in Christ, and Dakota Durbin, Vice President of Private Banking, and Investment Services Manager at Mechanics Bank, were approved as incoming Board of Trustee members.

Beth DeLaney and Debbi Adams retired from the board and were recognized for their dedication and service to the Foundation and the community. 

The following officers were elected to serve this year; Jessica Gribben, chair, Chris Hiner, chair-elect, Lee Tasseff, treasurer, and Jotika Shetty, secretary.

« Back to Blog